Designing Patterns is Mostly Unraveling

Hi Friends,

Has anyone ever told you that designing your own patterns is fun? Well, they weren’t lying, it really is. What they fail to tell you, however, is that designing your own patterns involves a whole lotta unraveling said work.

Like a LOT of unraveling.

For instance, take my Caron Cakes infinity scarf pattern….Oh wait, I never finished that thing because I unraveled it like seven times and then moved on to something else.

Well, what about that Easter Bunny design I was going to make in time for Easter? Whoops, he’s still sitting half done because I couldn’t get his ears just right.

Also don’t even get me started on how many flower patterns I frogged before I settled on designs for each element of my wedding. SO it’s not a glamorous life, but it sure is fun to see something from your imagination come to life in someone else’s hands.

I’ll be releasing my Avenger set soon. If you haven’t already, go check out the accounts of the fabulous ladies who helped me get these patterns just right (below). I tend to break the “rules” when I crochet and just go guerilla style so having them keep me honest in the directions was a lifesaver! To actuallyΒ create something that someone else can follow along with will forever be my challenge, but I’m getting better at it.

nima_lab / wipstitchwingcreations / isa_bella9 /Β gentlystitchedcreations

Aren’t they cute! Go give them a follow and of course me if you’re not already. I read somewhere that to be successful you have to give your readers a call to action, or something for them to do. So go follow my Instagram!

Now I feel bossy, so I’ll just end this here…..

Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Ravelry

signature2

Leave a Reply

