Japansese Kokeshi Amigurumi Doll – Pattern

Hello Friends,

And welcome to Friday!

These dolls were a gift I made for my oldest brother. He works in graphic design and has always loved anime and Asian cultures. When it came to making him something special I really had no other choice.

Japanese Kokeshi Doll

 

I was completely working off the cuff so you can see how they are all three slightly different. It took me three times before I decided on the best pattern. The pattern is for the blue doll. I have directions for all the hair styles, but the actual body is written from the blue beauty.

I also used baby yarn for these. I don’t normally use baby yarn for anything but baby blankets and booties, but over Thankgiving, JB’s Mom gave me three full bags of leftover baby yarn and I loved the colors so here we are.

I will warn you that if you too decide to go the baby yarn route, the stitches are tiny and it can get hard…..so if you’re closer to a newbie then a vet I suggest going with a medium weight.

As a sneak peek I have included the instructions for the three hair styles below, but you can find the full pattern in my ravelry store. Only $2. 

Japanese Kokeshi Doll

Let’s get to the pattern.

What you’ll need:

  • size 3.5mm crochet hook
  • black, tan, and various clothing colored yarns.

Hair

  • begin just like you did for the head, magic circle and sc 6
  • 2sc into each stitch (12)
  • * sc, 2sc* repeat around (18)
  • *sc 2, 2sc* repeat around (24)
  • *sc 3, 2sc* repeat around (30)
  • sc around for 3 rows

bangs = sc, hdc, 2dc, 2dc, tc, 2dc, hdc, sc 2, hdc, 2dc, hdc, sc around the remaining row.

long on sides = hdc, 2dc, 2tc, tc next 15 sts, 2tc, 2dc, hdc, sc, slip stitch next 7 sts

buns = magic circle, sc 6, 2sc in each st (12), sc around (12), dec around (6).

NOTE: Since I was using baby yarn, the yarn weight of the head was smaller then the yarn I used for the hair. If you find your hair is not fitting on the head, then you need to add another inc row. (*sc 4, 2sc* = 36) before you sc around for 3 rows. 

Japanese Kokeshi doll

 

Again, you can see all the differences in the three dolls I have pictured, so keep in mind this pattern is specifically for the blue doll.

Just a slight variation in you weight of yarn can change the measurements (hence the different size of the orange doll in relation to the others).

I hope the pattern makes sense to everyone. If you have any questions please leave a comment below or shoot me an email. (happilyyarnafter@gmail.com)

Also don’t forget to check out the full pattern as well as my others in my Ravelry store.

What do you think?

Please pin, tweet, share!

Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Ravelry

signature2

2 thoughts on “Japansese Kokeshi Amigurumi Doll – Pattern

Leave a Reply

