Crochet Wall Hanging

Hello friends and Happy Wedding Wednesday!

When trying to decide what gifts to make everyone this year for Christmas, JB’s sister was probably the easiest one upon first thought. She got married in November so anything with her new last name or monogram usually goes over extremely well with newly-weds. (hint, hint)

However the actual application of the thought was what stumped me. What should I slap that new monogram or name onto?

-A throw pillow? They have two dogs that tear things up so that wouldn’t do.

-Perhaps some doilies, because nothing screams modern bride like doilies on all your end tables! That idea got scratched early on.

I think I finally came up with the perfect solution though.

Wall hanging!

crochet-newlywed-wall-hanging

Wall hangings are super popular right now, specifically yarn ones. And granted this one isn’t quite like the popular woven wall hangings that anthropology and stores like it have made popular. But it’s one of a kind. Literally nothing like it is out there right now. At least not in this medium.

I used a basic sc stitch for the actual banner. I kinda winged it based off of measurements of a banner I have from Target.

Then I embroidered her new last name and the the year they got married. And let me tell ya, embroidering calligraphy is extremely difficult to freehand, considering I can’t even write calligraphy with a pen!

crochet newlywed wall hanging

After I had the “P” completed to my liking, the rest came together a lot easier. When deciding what to decorate it with I was stumped again. I made a few tiny dog paw appliques, but they just didn’t seem to pop the way I wanted them to.

So I reverted back to what I know, flowers. She had these beautiful sunflowers at her wedding so I looked at a few pictures of crochet flowers on Pinterest and made it up!

crochet sunflower applique

Once those were stitched on I still felt it was a bit bare, so I decided to embroider the stems and leaves. I gotta say, it turned out a lot better then I originally thought I could do. The wall hanging is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while now so I’m happy I have finally completed it!

The wooden bar I bought from Joanns in a pack of 6 for a few bucks.I kind of whip-stitched it on, then tied the hanging loop on. I did end up hot gluing the very end to the rod so that it’d be sure to stay.

I even ended up doing one for my other sister-in-law but I didn’t finish it in time for Christmas.

crochet wall hanging

I love these wall hangings so much I’ll for sure be making one for myself too. I’m toying with a few different designs as well so you might see those pop up.

What do you think?

Would you hang one of these up in your house?

Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Ravelry

signature2

Leave a Reply

