When Your Wedding Theme is Yarn

Hello friends,

I wanted to share a bit about how I came up with my blog name. Happily Yarn After. It all started when I got engaged and started planning our wedding. And before you think, oh great just another girl on the internet talking about her wedding (hey I love those blogs), why don’t you stay awhile for me to convince you that mine is a little different.

How different you might ask. Well my theme is yarn…..

Before you say it, I know what you’re thinking. A yarn themed wedding?!? I’ve completely lost my marbles, gone plum crazy, fell off the turnip wagon!

I’m not even sure that last one means what I think it means, but basically a yarn themed wedding seems….well strange. I get it.

yarnweddingtheme

 

Have no fear folks, you’re not the only one with that worry. Most people are at least nice and to my face say that it’s “unique.” It’s like the equivalent of “bless your heart,” but I’m ok with that. Why? Because I have zero self-esteem issues and do what I want!

Ha. Kidding. I don’t care because they just don’t know understand. If I wasn’t so in love with yarn I wouldn’t get it either. Just like I don’t understand people who let their dogs sleep in their bed, or actually LIKE staying out until 5 am. The same people I don’t understand, when I say yarn wedding think yarn wedding dress, yarn favors, yarn CHAIRS! Don’t worry, I will have regular, normal chairs for guests to sit on and no one is required to wear a homemade shawl.

So let’s take a look at what I actually plan on making out of yarn and then you can tell me what you think. Deal?

Alright! Here’s what I’m making.

  • Save the date banner (done, see above)
  • Flowers for bride and bridesmaids bouquets (mostly done)
  • Hearts to line the aisle
  • Flowers to hang as a backdrop for the ceremony arch (done)
  • Ring Bearer pillow
  • Cake topper (done)
  • A few surprises for day of!

Not that weird now right?……right? 🙂

It’s actually whole lot more subtle then you might think when I first say it. I guess saying my theme is yarn is a bit misleading. It’s more accurately rustic mountain wedding with yarn details. Does that make you feel more comfortable?

I’ve already finished many of my projects which I will be posting about in turn as I marked above. I’ve already posted some sneak peeks so be sure to follow me on Insta if you’re interested.

But hey anyone who’s invited knows of my deep and undying love of yarn, oh yea and that guy I’m marrying, so they’ll understand. And heck if they don’t that’s ok too I suppose.

Now it’s your turn to tell me what you think? Also if you used any yarn aspect in YOUR big day please please let me know below!

Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Ravelry

signature2

4 thoughts on “When Your Wedding Theme is Yarn

  1. Pingback: Black Friday Haul

Leave a Reply

